I came across this concertina on ebay and was wondering if anyone had any info on it. I did see that people asked the seller a few questions that he/she didn't answer, that made me wonder if it was legit. A young one learning asked me to keep my eye out for something for them and I didn't want to pass it on if they couldn't check up on it with the serial number. Why wouldn't someone give out the serial number? Could it have been obtained in an illegal manner maybe? Who knows
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
Well, I think, IMNSHO, some way, somewhere, there's a con going on.
The jokey refusal of the seller to properly answer reasonable and decent questions, the starting price which is WAY over its value - £3K MAYBE £3.5K - everything conspires to suggest this. I can't advise touching it, even with a long wooden oar.
It occurred to me where is it ? Is he/she/the seller North of the border ? ( Being ignorant of the placing of many counties ). Is that why it's in sterling ?
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.
An honest dealer wouldn't hesitate to answer those questions, and most would have put serial number or date, and information about the reeds and action in the listing.
It isn't ignorance - he has bought and sold a number of concertinas and accordions previously, so the only conclusion you can draw is that he is trying to hide something.
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
In the answers to the questions posed by potential buyers, this seller comes across as a complete A@@hole. Frankly, his attitude tells me that he does'nt deserve to sell it. I also notice that there was some "bad business" in his feedback history. "refused to accept my refund offer" left as a comment for another buyer. Is that a cover story? - was such an offer ever made?
I use ebay a lot and have no serious gripes about it or particular bad experiences to report - but 5K is 5K - not peanuts in anyones language. If you have the remotest doubt don't go near it.
I would'nt touch it with someone else's barge-pole.
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
DOn't go near it. Abusive answers to fair questions is enough of a sign from this guy. The description isn't even accurate from the thread on concertina.net.
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
The concertina appears to belong to a group of Wheatstones made in the 1950s which are not usually of the best quality and it may be the seller is being very clumsy in trying to hide this, hoping a buyer might think it is a better concertina.
I say not usually of the best quality because the occasional one is half OK, but not commonly enough to bet on this one or any other one sight unseen.
I have seen one concertina of this type, not just 50s Wheatstone but octagonal, which is rare, and it was as bad as any concertina I have ever played. A good museum piece, perfect for the shelf.
There will be other concertinas along, advise your young friend to wait...
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
I would like to think that no-one will fall for this. I think the concertina community is fairly tightly knit with a focused online presence. Everyone seems to know who everyone else is - it's a very small pond! I wonder if the seller realises this...
Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170598431428#description
I came across this concertina on ebay and was wondering if anyone had any info on it. I did see that people asked the seller a few questions that he/she didn't answer, that made me wonder if it was legit. A young one learning asked me to keep my eye out for something for them and I didn't want to pass it on if they couldn't check up on it with the serial number. Why wouldn't someone give out the serial number? Could it have been obtained in an illegal manner maybe? Who knows
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by ColmGannon
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
Well, I think, IMNSHO, some way, somewhere, there's a con going on.
The jokey refusal of the seller to properly answer reasonable and decent questions, the starting price which is WAY over its value - £3K MAYBE £3.5K - everything conspires to suggest this. I can't advise touching it, even with a long wooden oar.
It occurred to me where is it ? Is he/she/the seller North of the border ? ( Being ignorant of the placing of many counties ). Is that why it's in sterling ?
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by Guernsey Pete
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
This covers all the angles:
http://www.concertina.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=12389&view=getnewpost
caution!
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by Prof. Prlwytzkofski
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
http://www.concertina.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=12389&st=0
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by Prof. Prlwytzkofski
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.
An honest dealer wouldn't hesitate to answer those questions, and most would have put serial number or date, and information about the reeds and action in the listing.
It isn't ignorance - he has bought and sold a number of concertinas and accordions previously, so the only conclusion you can draw is that he is trying to hide something.
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by skreech
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
In the answers to the questions posed by potential buyers, this seller comes across as a complete A@@hole. Frankly, his attitude tells me that he does'nt deserve to sell it. I also notice that there was some "bad business" in his feedback history. "refused to accept my refund offer" left as a comment for another buyer. Is that a cover story? - was such an offer ever made?
I use ebay a lot and have no serious gripes about it or particular bad experiences to report - but 5K is 5K - not peanuts in anyones language. If you have the remotest doubt don't go near it.
I would'nt touch it with someone else's barge-pole.
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by ormepipes
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
DOn't go near it. Abusive answers to fair questions is enough of a sign from this guy. The description isn't even accurate from the thread on concertina.net.
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by csparpd
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
The concertina appears to belong to a group of Wheatstones made in the 1950s which are not usually of the best quality and it may be the seller is being very clumsy in trying to hide this, hoping a buyer might think it is a better concertina.
I say not usually of the best quality because the occasional one is half OK, but not commonly enough to bet on this one or any other one sight unseen.
I have seen one concertina of this type, not just 50s Wheatstone but octagonal, which is rare, and it was as bad as any concertina I have ever played. A good museum piece, perfect for the shelf.
There will be other concertinas along, advise your young friend to wait...
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by cag
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
I would like to think that no-one will fall for this. I think the concertina community is fairly tightly knit with a focused online presence. Everyone seems to know who everyone else is - it's a very small pond! I wonder if the seller realises this...
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by Dr. Dow
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
Look at the sellers feedback, he bought it a few months ago for $3,500.
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by t byrne
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
Aye t byrne & $3,500 = £2,174 ..... not £5,000!!
# Posted on February 9th 2011 by Ptarmigan
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
Exactly, that's my point.
# Posted on February 10th 2011 by t byrne
Re: Does anyone know anything about this Wheatstone concertina on Ebay?
No offers, no sale.
I'm glad no-one has bitten and the seller is left high and dry.
I hate it when people try to exploit musicians.
# Posted on February 13th 2011 by Guernsey Pete